Letters to the Ladies of Llangollen

Scope and Content

Eight letters, 1778, to Mrs Elinor Goddard (née Shuldham) relating to the flight to Wales of Sarah Ponsonby and Lady Eleanor Butler, together with thirty-two letters, 1781-1831, to the Ladies of Llangollen, arranged alphabetically by correspondent. The correspondents include Edmund Burke (1), 1790; Hester Lynch Piozzi (2), 1800-1801; Arthur Wellesley, first duke of Wellington (2), 1820-1829; and William Wilberforce (1), 1823.
Also included are autograph published verses by Thomas Campbell ('Stanzas to Painting', ff. 28-29) and William Wordsworth ('A stream, to mingle with your perfect Dee ...' and 'Look at the fate of summer flowers ...', ff. 95-96), all differing slightly from the published versions; a transcript of a sonnet by John Bligh, earl of Darnley (f. 19); and verse, in French, attributed to Anna Seward (f. 68).

Administrative / Biographical History

Hester Lynch Piozzi (1741-1821) inherited the Bachegraig estate of the Salusbury family on the death of her mother, Hester Maria, in 1773. The estate comprised a wood, a few farms, a dilapidated church and a few cottages, along with Bachegraig House. Hester and her husband, Gabriele Piozzi (d. 1809) built a new house on the estate called Brynbella, taking up residence in 1795. Bachegraig was the earliest example of a brick house in Wales, erected by Sir Richard Clough in 1567 at the foot of Tremeirchion Hill.
Hester was the daughter of John Salusbury (1710-1762) of Bachegraig, Governor of Nova Scotia and Hester Maria (d. 1773), a descendant of the Salusbury family of Lleweni. Hester married firstly, Henry Thrale (d. 1781), a London brewer. In 1784, she married secondly, Gabriele Piozzi, an Italian music master. In January 1798 Hester and Gabriele adopted the five year old son of Gabriele's brother, Giovanne Battiste. The boy became known as John Piozzi (d. 1858). Hester was part of a literary circle, and was a friend and correspondent of Dr Samuel Johnson.
The Brynbella estate passed to John on his marriage to Harriet Maria Pemberton of Condover Hall, Shropshire. Hester thereafter resided at Bath. Sir John was knighted in 1817 and became known as Sir John Salusbury Piozzi Salusbury.

Access Information

Access to the original manuscript by authorised permission only. Readers are directed to use surrogate copies.

Note

Hester Lynch Piozzi (1741-1821) inherited the Bachegraig estate of the Salusbury family on the death of her mother, Hester Maria, in 1773. The estate comprised a wood, a few farms, a dilapidated church and a few cottages, along with Bachegraig House. Hester and her husband, Gabriele Piozzi (d. 1809) built a new house on the estate called Brynbella, taking up residence in 1795. Bachegraig was the earliest example of a brick house in Wales, erected by Sir Richard Clough in 1567 at the foot of Tremeirchion Hill.
Hester was the daughter of John Salusbury (1710-1762) of Bachegraig, Governor of Nova Scotia and Hester Maria (d. 1773), a descendant of the Salusbury family of Lleweni. Hester married firstly, Henry Thrale (d. 1781), a London brewer. In 1784, she married secondly, Gabriele Piozzi, an Italian music master. In January 1798 Hester and Gabriele adopted the five year old son of Gabriele's brother, Giovanne Battiste. The boy became known as John Piozzi (d. 1858). Hester was part of a literary circle, and was a friend and correspondent of Dr Samuel Johnson.
The Brynbella estate passed to John on his marriage to Harriet Maria Pemberton of Condover Hall, Shropshire. Hester thereafter resided at Bath. Sir John was knighted in 1817 and became known as Sir John Salusbury Piozzi Salusbury.

Title based on contents.

Alternative Form Available

Available on microfilm at the Library (NLW Film 1001).

Additional Information

Published