Finstock lies approximately 12 miles west of Oxford, and 7 miles south of Chipping Norton. The church of Holy Trinity, Finstock was originally built in 1840-1841 as a chapel of ease to Charlbury, although prior to this many parishioners actually attended Wilcote church as it was closer. Please see Mss.d.d.par.Charlbury for earlier records.
The records in this collection were deposited with Oxfordshire Record Office in August 2004 as Acc 5314 in August 2004. Further records were deposited as Acc 5629 in March 2007, Acc 5834 March 2009 and Acc 6405 in October 2015.
The records were originally catalogued by Hannah Jones in October 2004 and March 2009, with additions by Alison Smith in December 2008 and October 2015.