Records of the Llangeinor Burial Board, 1886-1921, includes: minutes, 1886-1921; ledgers, cash books, and burial fees account books, 1886-1921; register of burial fees, 1903-1911 (includes names of those buried); registers of burials 1887-1921; registers of graves, 1887-1923; registers of purchased graves 1888-1921.
Llangeinor Burial Board Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Llangeinor Burial Board (Glamorgan) was established in 1886, by the Llangeinor parish vestry, Llangeinor (or Llangeinwyr), Glamorgan. Two committees were set up, one for the Ogmore valley and one for the Garw valley, and cemeteries were opened at Pwll-y-pant, in Ogmore Vale, in 1887, and at Gelliron, in Pontycymer, in 1889. The Burial Board was taken over in 1921, by Ogmore and Garw Urban District Council, under section 62 of the Local Government Act 1894.
Arranged accordingly to date and type.
Compiled by Hayden Burns for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Glamorgan Record Office, Catalogue of records for the Llangeinor Burial Board; Riden, Philip, Records Sources for Local History, (London, 1987).
Other Finding Aids
The catalogue is available at Glamorgan Archives
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Good to fair condition
Compiled by Richard Morgan for the Glamorgan Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply.
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of the Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the depositor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are not expected.