Comprises registers of baptism, banns, marriage and burial and a register of services.
Gwytherin Parish Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CEP5
- Dates of Creation1718-1994
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Gwytherin was an "ancient parish". At one time the parish was divided into four townships, Is-llan, Uwch-llan, Pennant and Cornwal. Latterly the parish was comprised of the townships of Is-llan and Uwch-llan only.
The original church appears to have been founded by St. Eleri. It was re-built at some early period, and re-dedicated in the name of St. James. This building eventually became very dilapidated, and was taken down in 1867. The new church, which was consecrated on 3 June 1869, was dedicated to St. Winifred. This church was deconsecrated in 1982. It was reconsecrated in 1990 but the parish is no longer in existence.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Former references CEP5/1-4 transferred from National Library of Wales, July 2008. The remainder of the collection was received from the parish by the Denbighshire Record Office in three accessions of 1987, 1994 and 1999 and transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009.