Records of Holyhead Sailing Club, 1955 - 2004, including minutes and related papers, 1966 - 1999; financial records, 1967 - 1999; membership records, 1960 - 1995, mooring and yacht registration, 1993 - 1999, and visitors books, 1981 - 1995; course details, entries and results relating to races, 1957 - 1999; miscellaneous correspondence, 1966 - 1993; papers relating to proposed developments at the Club, 1970 - 1996; annual handbooks, 1974 - 2004; papers relating to Holyhead Harbour bye Laws, 1970; papers relating to the purchase and testing of boats, ropes, chains and lifting equipment, 1987 - 2002; notes on the management structure of the Club, 2004.
Holyhead Sailing Club Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Porth-y-Felin Sailing Club was established in 1905 in Holyhead, Anglesey, and was based in Holyhead harbour. It was later renamed Holyhead Sailing Club. The Club currently has over 600 members and provides moorings for 170 vessels.
Arranged into the following: minutes; financial; moorings, yacht registration and membership and visitors; races; club miscellaneous; documents deposited by Owain T. P. Roberts, not part of the Sailing Club collection.
Conditions Governing Access
No access for 25 years without written permission of the Club. Address requests to the Honorary Secretary.
Adnau preifat / Private deposit.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifdy Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Gwasanaeth Archifdy Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archivesand the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Gwasanaeth Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
All records damaged by damp storage
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Anglesey County Record Office, Holyhead Sailing Club, catalogue; Holyhead Sailing Club website (www.holyheadsailingclub.org.uk), viewed 12 July 2004.
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
All of the records were damaged by damp storage. Only those exceptionally badly damaged are noted.
Disgwylir croniadau/Accruals are expected