Preludes, a set of 6 short piano pieces

Scope and Content

The original score - of which this is a photocopy - is handwritten by Burgess.

1) Modéré

2) Très Modéré

3) Vivo

4) Maestoso

5) Molto Lento, ma Grazioso

6) Energico

See also AB/ARCH/A/MUS/79: File containing fragments of unidentified scores for piano, or solo instrument and piano.

Administrative / Biographical History

Burgess's six Preludes later provided the main thematic material for his Piano Concerto.

Preludes formed part of a concert of piano, vocal and chamber music by Burgess that was held at Brown University, Rhode Island, America in February 1999. The concert was titled The Brides of Enderby.

Alternative Form Available

An engraved copy of the score is on file. It was created by Ivan Moseley on behalf of the International Anthony Burgess Foundation in 2015.

Location of Originals

Anthony Burgess papers (Fonds RC0231), McMaster University Library, Ontario


BURGESS, Anthony: The Piano Music of Anthony Burgess. Performed by Richard Casey. (Prima Facie, 2016)