Illustrated notebook containing transcribed score for six Christmas carols with alternative lyrics by Burgess, and an original composition for piano "Interlude for Small Organ"

Scope and Content

With hand-drawn illustrations by Burgess.

Burgess has composed alternative lyrics to the following carols:

1) Here We Come A-Waissailing

2) O Come, All Ye Faithful

3) Christians Awake!

4) Silent Night

5) Good King Wencelas

6) God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen

Access Information

Available to researchers in consultation with the Archivist due to the condition of the item.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

The final page of the notebook has become detached from the main body of text. Foxing, particularly to the contents page.


Burgess's alternative lyrics to "O Come, All Ye Faithful" are published in the novel "Beard's Roman Women" (London: Hutchinson, 1977), p. 81.