String Quartet / Quartet in C for two violins, viola and violoncello, composed for the Primavera Quartet

Scope and Content

The original score - of which this is a photocopy - is handwritten by Burgess and is dedicated to the Primavera Quartet.

Administrative / Biographical History

Burgess became acquainted with the Primavera Quartet, winner of the 1977 Naumberg Award in chamber music, through Stanley Silverman in 1980. Upon hearing the ensemble, Burgess decided to compose a string quartet and, on 8 March 1980, he completed the work, which he dedicated to the ensemble.

The piece was first performed at a commemorative concert, titled "Anthony Burgess: The Years in Monaco", at the Princess Grace Irish Library in Monaco on 21 November 1994. It was performed at the International Anthony Burgess Foundation in Manchester in 2014 by the Heath Quartet.

Alternative Form Available

The following are filed alongside the photocopied manuscript: (1) an engraved copy of the full score, published by Saga Music Publishing Ltd in 1996; (2) a further engraved copy of the full score - and of separate parts for violin, viola and violoncello, created in 2014.

Custodial History

This photocopied score was given directly to the donor by Burgess. The donor was the first violinist of the Primavera String Quartet.

Location of Originals

"Anthony Burgess Papers", Harry Ransom Center: The University of Texas, Austin.