Minutes, 1844-1910; Baptisms, 1867-1909; Communion roll, 1868-1910.
Records of Auchtermuchty North (Antiburgher) United Presbyterian Church, United Free
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Antiburgher congregation of Auchtermuchty North was set up in 1783, the same year in which the church was erected. The establishment of Auchtermuchty North was the result of a request from Antiburgher families for a meeting place within the district of Auchtermuchty, having had for forty years prior to 1783 to travel a considerable distant to the nearest Antiburgher church located at Abernethy. James Browning, the first minister of Auchermuchty North, was ordained in 1785. The church came within the United Presbyterian Church, Presbytery of Cupar, in 1847. In 1850 the old church was replaced by a new and more commodious building, although the congregation declined later in the century, partly as Auchtermuchty's population fell. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, the charge became Auchtermuchty United Free Church, and in 1910 the congregation was dissolved and the church and manse sold.
Sources: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904); John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.