Printed share certificate no. 1399 of the Grand Junction Canal, completed in manuscript, owned by Elizabeth Grant, spinster of Stony Stratford, Buckinghamshire. It is dated (in print) 16 Sep 1793, at the second general meeting at Daventry, Northants, signed by two clerks to the company, and sealed with the paper seal of the company.
Grand Junction Canal
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 734
- Dates of Creation1793
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 sheet
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Work on the Grand Junction Canal was begun in 1793, to provide a london link with the rest of the UK canal system. The construction was overssen by William Jessop as Chief Engineer, and the Chairman of the Company was William Praed. The Canal opened as a through route in 1805, though sections of it had been opened earlier. In 1929 the Grand Junction Canal merged with the Regent's Canal and the Warwick Canal to become the Grand Union Canal Company.
Conditions Governing Access
Access to this collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the supervised environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Bought from E. Hall in 1967. Formerly with MS.712.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
14½" x 9¼"
Compiled by Sarah Aitchison as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.