An account book which consists mostly of the bills of Congregational Ministers who frequented the Drovers Arms, 1835-1855.
Account Book of the Drovers Arms, Carmarthenshire
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Drovers Arms was a popular place of lodging amongst the ministers who were invited to preach at the chapels in Heol Awst and Union Street, in Caerfyrddin (Carmarthen). Their bills were settled by the deacon, W.G. Thomas.
The tavern was also the most popular amongst the ministers who were attending annual meetings etc. Evidently, not all preachers were teetotallers.
Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, February 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference number : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 568
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.
Item discovered in the Amlwch area, Anglesey.