Session minutes, 1904-1924; Deacon's Court minutes, 1881-1924.
Records of Largo Free Church, Upper Largo United Free Church
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
At the time of the Disruption in 1843 the minister of the parish of Largo, and a substantial proportion of his congregation, adhered to the Free Church, and for a time worshipped in a temporary wooden building until the church of Largo Free Church was opened in 1844. Mission work was additionally conducted from 1884 in the district of New Gilston. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, Largo Free Church became the session of Largo United Free Church and after a brief linkage with Lathones from 1917 to 1924, the congregation was dissolved.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II.
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.