Records of the Masonic Lodge of St Tudno, Llandudno

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minute books, membership records, correspondence etc.

Administrative / Biographical History

The St Tudno Lodge was the first Masonic Lodge created in Llandudno. Its members include many of the famous names in Llandudno local history, men who were key figures in the creation and development of the Victorian resort.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

This collection was originally stored in vault of Nat West Bank, Mostyn Street, where it was damaged by floodwater in 1993. Although it was freeze-dried and conserved at the time, some volumes nevertheless show evidence of water damage, some have pages still glued together, and others are partly illegible, the ink having washed off the page.

Custodial History

Transferred to Llandudno Museum c.1993, where it remained uncatalogued until 2006, when it was removed to Achive Service.

Related Material

See also CP 259 for photographs in the collection. A copy of the history of the Lodge which was compiled for its centenary in 1958 can be found in the Local History files and in the reference library of the Archive.