Llanferres National/Endowed School was opened in 1763 when the original school house was built (endowed by Catherine Jones of Colomendy). An additional school building was added to the school house around 1847. National schools were often known as "Church Schools" and were affiliated with local parish churches.
The school ceased to have aided status and became a Controlled School 1953 and it eventually closed in December 1976
A new school built on a new site opened 1977, named Ysgol John Davies, Llanferres. Became a cluster school in 1991 with Ysgol Llanarmon yn Ial and Ysgol Graianrhyd.
Later school federated with Ysgol Llanarmon-yn-Ial, and became a twin site school named Ysgol Bro Fammau.
This collection includes log books and managers minutes.
Location of original school
Street name- N/A
25 inch O.S. maps (1872 - 1912) Llanferres School is on sheet 15-4.
PD/43/1/54 - Abstract of deed establishing free school in Llanferres (1764)
NTD/31- Typed copy of abstract of trust deed of Llanferres School (1764)
PD/57/1/69-75, 78-96 Parish Records transferred to Flintshire
ED/43- Llanarmon yn Ial National School records, 1836-1964
"Llanferres Endowed School 1763-1976" by T.W. Pritchard (1976)