J James and Sons Limited

Scope and Content

Contains minutes and agendas of board meetings, managers reports, directors reports, accounts and other financial papers. Legal agreements concerning property and premises have been catalogued in LAC/10/1/6/1/158-166 (1910-1952), depreciation accounts for the year ending 25 Oct 1963 can be found in LAC/10/1/2/14/4

Administrative / Biographical History

The company was formed in 1880 by John James at 'The Mews', College Street. It was operated as a family business with his sons Percy, Angus and Linsay. In 1919 the company started a regular bus service in the Amman Valley, before extending services to Aberystwyth, Burry Port, Llanelli, Pontardulais, Neath, Tai'rgwaith,Brynamman and Swansea. J James and Sons took over four other companies: D Jones and Sons, Brynteg; Vernon Davies, Garnswllt; Jones Brothers, Brynamman; and Cambrian Motors, Clydach.

It became a Limited Company in 1931, John James and his three sons were directors, with Angus James taking on lead role as general manager. In 1933 and 1936 the college street premises, now known as Central Garage, was enlarged and modernised. The concern was acquired in 1950 by British Electric Traction, but continued to be operated as a seperate business. Angus James continued to act as general manager. The company had close links with the South Wales Transport Company, being joint operators on the Swansea Valley services. It then became a wholly-owned subsiduary of the South Wales Transport Company with the purchase of the share capital on 3 Aug 1962. It was agreed in a board meeting held on 10 Sep 1962 that the original company should be dissolved by means of a members' voluntary wind up.

Directors:

1951-1956: W T James (chairman); R J Ellery; T R Williams

1957: W T James (chairman); W M Dravers; T R Williams

1958-1959: W T James (chairman); W M Dravers; T V Woods

1960: W M Dravers (chairman); T V Woods; F K Pointon

Secretary:

1951-1955: I M Smith

1956: J M Darken

1957-1962: H E Exton

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply