Lease and confirmation of land at the Dunns

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 217 LAC/10/3/3/1/16
  • Dates of Creation
      2 May 1862-9 Aug 1878
  • Physical Description
      1 parchment

Scope and Content

Lease: 2 May 1862

1. John Viner of the Mackworth Arms Inn, Swansea, Glamorgan, Innkeeper

2. George Byng Morris of Sketty Park, Swansea

Premises: Ground adjoining a dwellinghouse and garden called the Elms, situated near the Dunns in the parish and manor of Oystermouth, Glamorgan. Also the coach house, stables and shed erected thereon and now in the occupation of John Viner

Term: 21 years from 24 Jun 1861

Rent: £35 per annum

Signed: John Viner and G[eorge] Byng Morris

Confirmation: 9 Aug 1878

1. Elizabeth Viner of St James Road, widow

2. George Byng Morris

3. John Dickson of Birkenhead, Chester, Contractor

1. claims that the in consequence of the Oystermouth Railway having been demised by 2. to the Swansea Improvements and Tramways Company, the above lease has become void. 1. and 2. , with the covanant of 3. agree that the lease will continue for the remainder of the term of 21 years