Contains 3 volumes; directors payments 1957-1962, purchase journal 1965-1969and cash received book 1967-1969
Neath and Cardiff Luxury Coaches Limited
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
On 7th January 1930 licences for a service between Neath and Cardiff were granted to C.K. Andrews Ltd, a Swansea coach firm. The company was incorporated as the N & C Luxury Coach Company on 4 Apr 1930. The fleet was housed at a garage at Burrows Road, Neath until 1932 when the company moved to a larger garage at James Street, Neath. A new depot was built at Briton Ferry, opening in Nov 1963. In 1938 the company acquired two local operators, Jones of Danygraig and Bromham of Morriston.
In 1953 the Company was sold to the British Electric Traction Company. Control of the company passed to the Transport Holding Company on 14 Mar 1968.
By the end of 1969, the company was controlled by the management of the South Wales Transport Company. The Cardiff operations of the company were transferred to Western Welsh on 5 Sep 1970. The company was absorbed into the South Wales Transport Company on 31 Dec 1970. On 9 Jan 1971 the garage at Briton Ferry was closed, ending 40 years of the Neath and Cardiff Luxury Coach Company Limited.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply