Handbook and newspaper reports relating to the centenary celebrations of Engedi Chapel, Caernarfon in 1942. Also, orders of service of the funerals of Rev. R. D. Rowland, Anthropos; John Hughes Evans and Miss Mair Davies and an agenda of a meeting of the deacons with details of the marriage of William Jones and Alice Williams in 1881, ca. 1949.
Engedi Chapel Documents
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Before 1842 there existed only one Calvinist Methodist chapel, namely Moreia, in the town of Caernarfon, even though the roots of the cause could be traced as far back as the 1780's. The need for another chapel was great and Engedi was opened on 19th and 20th June 1842. By the 1860's the number of Engedi chapel members had grown dramatically and there was a call for a larger chapel. The new chapel was designed by Richard Owen of Liverpool and during the building work the congregation worshipped at the British School in Caernarfon. The new chapel was opened on 22nd - 23rd January 1867.
For further administrative history consult Pobl Caernarfon ac addolwyr Engedi 1842-1992 by Gwilym Arthur Jones (1992) and the Centenary Handbook of Engedi Chapel amongst these documents.
Arranged chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, April 2002.
Other Finding Aids
An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 31236-31242
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.
Item 31236 was presented by the minister, Rev. Robert Williams to Mr and Mrs John Rowlands.