Merchant bank, William Brandt's Sons & Co. Ltd, was established by a German mercantile family. EH Brandt opened his first office in London in 1805 where his postal address was Batson's CoffeeHouse. A branch of the firm had also been opened in Archangel, Russia in 1802. In 1861 the companybecame insolvent but Augustus Brandt and others managed to secure 10,000 pounds to save the company.
The firm traded exclusively with Russia (particularly in Archangel, Riga and St. Petersburg)until 1875 when it began trading in Argentinean grain movements and meat refrigeration. It also hadinterests in sugar and cotton mills. It took over the Calcutta house of Scholvin and Co. in 1886 andthereby extended its interests to India. The company had the name William Brandt's Sons and CompanyLimited at the time with offices at 4 Fenchurch Avenue in the City of London.
Brandt's was smaller than many leading merchant banks operating in London in these years. It hadcapital of 0.35 million pounds in 1880 rising to 0.75 million pounds by 1904 and one million by1914. Brandt's belonged to the Accepting House Committee that was set up at the beginning of thefirst world war and acceptances accounted for a substantial part of its business. By 1914,acceptance liabilities in Russia accounted for less than 10 percent of Brandt's business and thelargest portion of acceptance business was with the United States (almost 35 percent).
The bank is first mentioned in the London Banks directory in 1894. In that year itspartners were Alfred Ernst Brandt, Arthur Henry Brandt and Augustus Ferdinand Brandt. Henry BernhardBrandt and Augustus Philip Brandt also became partners in 1895 but Alfred had ceased to be a partnerin the following year. Rudolph Ernst Brandt joined the firm in 1898, replacing Arthur.
Brandt's is no longer in existence but the date of the winding up of the company is not known. Itwas still trading in 1957.