- Property records 1911;
- Promotional material c1855-1910;
- Photographs c1985-1994.
Records of Thomas Gilroy & Co, brewers, Lanark, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 TG
- Dates of Creation1855-1994
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.015 metres (1 file)There are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The firm of Thomas Gilroy & Co , brewers, of Lanark, Scotland , was certainly in business between 1857 and 1910, but very little else is known of this company. Operating from the North Vennel Brewery in Lanark, the company brewed, bottled and was a producer of aerated water. The company ceased brewing in about 1910. Thomas Gilroy sold the business in 1911 and emigrated to Canada. The brewery building was still in existence in 1994, latterly operating as a tannery.
Sources: Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No 7 (Summer 1986)
Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No 8 (Winter 1986/87)
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Material donated by various individuals
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously housed with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), Wednesday 21 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 09 April 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 09 January 2009; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 10 May 2012.