- Corporate records 1923-1977;
- Shareholding records 1931-1959;
- Financial records 1950-1959;
- Staff records 1950s;
- Promotional material 1936-1950s;
- Public relations 1938-1957;
- Photographs 1970s.
Records of William Lindsay & Son Ltd, coopers, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 WL
- Dates of Creation1931-1970
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.50 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William Lindsay of Edinburgh, Scotland , started his cooperage business in 1829. He made wooden tubs for housewives to do their laundry. His cooperage was situated at the banks of the river Leith . In 1874 the business was taken over by William Lindsay's son James, who went to Germany to buy the machinery to produce casks for the export of beer. The business was expanding rapidly. On James Lindsay's death his two sons James and William took over the business. James was killed in 1916 and his brother William became the sole partner.
The firm of William Lindsay & Son Ltd became a private limited company in 1923 and William Lindsay was managing director until 1941. Mr Kenneth Lindsay then took over until he sold out to Scottish Brewers Ltd , Edinburgh, in 1942. By 1968 the use of metal casks had cut down the demand for oak casks by the brewing industry, but the whisky industry still needed oak casks. Thus most of William Lindsay's cask production in the 1960s was for Mackinlay-McPherson Ltd , wine and spirit merchants, Edinburgh, Scotland. No more is known about the company's history.
Source: Archer, James . By the Water of Leith in The Essanden (Spring 1968)
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Academic and personal research only, subject to the Data Protection Act 1998.
Scottish & Newcastle plc
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously housed with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), 21 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised and administrative history added by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 09 April 2002. Catalogue revised by Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 09 January 2009; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 10 May 2012.