Records of York Charity Schools

Scope and Content

Directors’ minute books, 1862-1936, 1945-1976, including minutes of annual general meetings, 1936-1946, and minutes of the first meeting of York Children’s Trust, 1976; annual reports, 1828-1897, 1928-1938; committee of the Blue and Grey Coat Schools minute books, 1770-1789, 1825-1839, 1863-1944, 1966-1983, including minutes of annual general meetings and annual committee, 1825-1839, 1863-1906; estate committee minutes, 1830-1920; finance committee minutes, 1907-1948; house committee minutes, 1933-1940; reports to the committees, 1882-1945; financial records, including account books, 1830-1886, 1906-1931, balance sheets, 1947-1973, working account books, 1906-1931, 1941-1965, income book, 1862-1886, salaries account book, 1944-1947, lists of benefactors, 1741-1825, subscription books, 1915-1921, 1935-1952, appeal fund account book, 1933, Blue Coats Friendly Society account book, 1872-1907; correspondence, 1893-1949; plan of the property of York Corporation and the trustees of the Blue Coat School at St Anthony’s Hall, 1947; photograph of Reverend Sydney Smith, secretary, c.1820; rules of the Blue and Grey Coat Schools, 1705, 1904.

Administrative / Biographical History

At its foundation the Blue Coat School was administered by a committee of subscribers, who became responsible for the Grey Coat School also. The accounts were managed by the steward, also called the treasurer and the original subscriptions were increased by bequests and investments.

However, complaints in the 1820s about the standard of behaviour within the schools led to a reform of the organisation with the purpose of gaining a tighter control over the type of children admitted.

In 1829 the original committee, later known as the permanent committee was joined by the annual committee, made up of 15 elected subscribers with the task of ensuring all pupils were of good character.

A system of visiting directors holding quarterly meetings was also introduced, and two further committees established: the Estates Committee, of five elected subscribers who were not to be members of the Annual Committee, and the Audit Committee, later called the Financial Committee.

This committee structure, administering the funds of the Blue Coat and Grey Coat Schools Charity, became known as York Charity Schools.

In 1976 the funds of York Charity Schools, St Stephen's Home, the William Richard Beckwith Fund, the Arthur Gill charity, the Matthew Rymer charity and the Ethel Crombie Memorial Fund were amalgamated to establish the York Children's Trust.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s.

Note

At its foundation the Blue Coat School was administered by a committee of subscribers, who became responsible for the Grey Coat School also. The accounts were managed by the steward, also called the treasurer and the original subscriptions were increased by bequests and investments.

However, complaints in the 1820s about the standard of behaviour within the schools led to a reform of the organisation with the purpose of gaining a tighter control over the type of children admitted.

In 1829 the original committee, later known as the permanent committee was joined by the annual committee, made up of 15 elected subscribers with the task of ensuring all pupils were of good character.

A system of visiting directors holding quarterly meetings was also introduced, and two further committees established: the Estates Committee, of five elected subscribers who were not to be members of the Annual Committee, and the Audit Committee, later called the Financial Committee.

This committee structure, administering the funds of the Blue Coat and Grey Coat Schools Charity, became known as York Charity Schools.

In 1976 the funds of York Charity Schools, St Stephen's Home, the William Richard Beckwith Fund, the Arthur Gill charity, the Matthew Rymer charity and the Ethel Crombie Memorial Fund were amalgamated to establish the York Children's Trust.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 16.06.15.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

The archives of the Blue and Grey Coat Schools, St Stephen's Orphanage, the Blue and Grey Coat Children's Home and York Children's Trust are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193