Hurley, Australasian Antarctic Expedition

Archive Unit

Scope and Content

  • MS 575/9;MJ Sledging journal, 10 November 1912 to 10 January 1913, 1 volume, microfilm

Administrative / Biographical History

The Australasian Antarctic Expedition, 1911-1914 (leader Douglas Mawson) established three bases, one on Macquarie Island, the others at Cape Denison and the Shackleton Ice Shelf. Sledging parties from the Cape Denison base explored the eastern coast, the southern area towards the Magnetic Pole and the western coastal mountains.

From the Cape Denison station a sledging party consisting of Mawson, Ninnes and Mertz explored the icecap to the south. (Only Mawson returned). The party on the Shackleton Ice Shelf carried out explorations including the assent of Gaussberg on the Davis Strait. The party on Macquarie Island led by George F Ainsworth established a wireless station and explored the island during their 23 month stay. Aurora searched for the non existent 'Royal Company Island' and visited Auckland Islands.



Alternative Form Available

This is a copy

Related Material

For additional collections relating to the Australasian Antarctic Expedition, 1911-1914 (leader Douglas Mawson) see the following SPRI collections, GB 015 Walter Atack, GB 015 Walter Henry Hannam, GB 015 John King Davis, GB 015 Charles T Harrisson, GB 015 Douglas Mawson, GB 015 Thomas Griffith Taylor, GB 015 Eric Norman Webb and GB 015 John Robert Francis Wild.

Material is also held at the Mitchell Library Sydney, Australia

Additional Information

The original Journal is held by the Mitchell Library, Sydney, Australia (1982)

Corporate Names