Society records of the Methodist Church, Warthill Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Register of baptisms, 1939-1984; records of Trustees, including meeting minute book, 1929-1930, list of trustees, 1929, consent forms, 1929, and resignation forms and list of proposed new Trustees, 1955; General Church Meeting minute book, 1977-1984; financial records, including Society Steward’s account books, 1931-1968, chapel accounts, 1930-1985, collection journal, 1932-1955, collections account book, 1955-1984, chapel’s building society account book, 1981-1985, and letter confirming bequest, 1947; property and fabric papers, including application and permission for work on a new porch for the chapel, 1911, papers relating to the sale and purchase of land adjoining the chapel, 1928-1929, and papers concerning the closure and sale of the chapel, 1982-1986; Sunday School attendance register, 1922-1969.

Administrative / Biographical History

Warthill Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built in 1841. At this time there were 17 members of the Methodist Society in the village and an average chapel attendance of 60 people. The new chapel was small, measuring 24 feet by 17 feet, and cost £110 to build.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Warthill joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit.

The chapel was closed in 1984 and sold in 1985.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1999. A further addition was made to the archive in 1999.

Note

Warthill Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built in 1841. At this time there were 17 members of the Methodist Society in the village and an average chapel attendance of 60 people. The new chapel was small, measuring 24 feet by 17 feet, and cost £110 to build.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Warthill joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit.

The chapel was closed in 1984 and sold in 1985.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1999.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 28.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit, York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and York, Centenary and York, South Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of the York Circuit and York, New Street Circuit form a single archive (MRC/1), as do the records of both Centenary Circuits (MRC/3).

Additional Information

Published

GB193