- Corporate records, 1888–1955;
- Shareholding records, 1895–1974;
- Financial records, 1934–1960;
- Production records, 1937–1955;
- Staff records, 1947–1957;
- Licensed premises records, 1954–1960;
- Property records, 1987;
- Promotional material, 1861–1960s;
- Public relations, 1987;
- Family papers (research notes), 1996;
- Photographs, 1895–1970s.
Records of Steel, Coulson & Co Ltd, brewers, Glasgow and Edinburgh, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
James Steel (1821–1891) inherited his father's brewery in Tureen Street in Calton, Glasgow , in the 1840s . In 1853 he moved his brewing operations to the Greenhead Brewery in Canning Street, Glasgow , which he purchased from Robert Struthers . In 1858 he acquired the Craigend Brewery in Cannongate in Edinburgh , from J & W Burnett . The Glasgow brewery specialised in the brewing of stouts and porters, while mild and pale ales were brewed in Edinburgh. George F Coulson joined Steel to form the partnership, Steel, Coulson & Co , in 1865 . In 1874 , Steel, Coulson & Co sold the Craigend Brewery to Andrew Drybrough & Co and acquired the City of Edinburgh Brewery Co 's brewery on Abbey Hill in Edinburgh . The new brewery was renamed Croft–an–Righ ("The King's Field"). Steel subsequently sold his interests in the business to Coulson, who became sole partner. Coulson & Co Ltd was registered in May 1888 as a limited liability company to acquire the business at a purchase price of GBP 130,000. The joint managing directors were Frank Coulson and John Laurie Coulson , the sons of George (who had retired from the business). The company took over Robert Deuchar Ltd of the Sandyford Brewery in Newcastle–upon–Tyne in 1941 . Most of the site of the Greenhead Brewery were leased to bottling companies in the 1930s , and the site was sold to James Calder & Co in 1946 . Vaux & Associated Breweries Ltd , Sunderland , acquired a controlling interest in the company in 1956 and completed the acquisition in 1959 . The company owned 16 licensed houses at this time. The Croft–an–Righ Brewery ceased to brew in 1960 although Vaux continued to make beers in the Steel Coulson name at the Park Brewery in Edinburgh . The maltings and bottling plant at the site continued in use until 1966 , when the remaining buildings associated with the brewery were demolished.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
McMaster, Charles and Kane, T Dan, "Steel, Coulson & Co Ltd: Part 1: The Greenhead Brewery, Glasgow", Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No. 13, (Winter 1988–1989); McMaster, Charles and Kane, T Dan, "Steel, Coulson & Co Ltd: Part 2: The Croft–an–Righ Brewery, Edinburgh", Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No. 14, (Spring 1989); Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds), The Brewing Industry. A Guide to Historical Records , (Manchester and New York: Manchester University Press, 1990).
McMaster, Charles and Kane, T Dan, "Steel, Coulson & Co Ltd: Part 1: The Greenhead Brewery, Glasgow", Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No. 13, (Winter 1988–1989); McMaster, Charles and Kane, T Dan, "Steel, Coulson & Co Ltd: Part 2: The Croft–an–Righ Brewery, Edinburgh", Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No. 14, (Spring 1989).
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 20 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 22 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 24 April 2002. Administrative history revised by Iain Russell, July 2006.