The first mention of a school in Clocaenog appears in the Parish Records in 1751(Birth of John, son of John Jones, schoolmaster, and Elizabeth PD/20/1/1). A house and schoolroom were built on waste ground below the churchyard in 1814. In 2013 the building is used as a private house called "Old School House".
Clocaenog Board School was established during the 1870s following the 1870 Elementary Education Act. As numbers of pupils increased a new larger building was erected on land given by Lord Bagot and he money needed was raised by donations. This building is still in use in 2013 and was taken over by Denbighshire County Council in 1904.
In 2013 Ysgol Clocaenog served a wide area including the villages of Clawdd Newydd and Derwen and it is now under consideration for closure / of merging with Gyffylliog school under one head teacher / of being demolished and a new larger school built on the same site.
This collection includes log books and governors minutes.
Location of School -
Street name N/A
Post Code LL15 2AT
25 inch O.S. maps (1872 - 1912) Llandyrnog National School is on sheet 26-1
Accounts for building new schoolroom at Clocaenog 1822 1823 NTD/123
List of pupils at Clocaenog School 1878 DD/DM/1312/21
Plan of Clocaenog School 1915 CD/A/4/21
Notes on Clocaenog School 1980c DD/DM 1312/7