David Hughes / Beaumaris Grammar School - Old Bimarensian's Collection.
David Hughes / Beaumaris Grammar School - Old Bimarensian's Collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Evan Madoc Jones (1868 - 1953) was headmaster of Beaumaris Grammar School from 1895 to 1933. He and his wife, Catherine, took a keen interest in the town and he was an elder at the Presbyterian Church and a local preacher. They had two children, Enid and Geraint. Mr and Mrs Madoc Jones moved to Old Colwyn, Denbighshire, in 1937; she died in 1951. Enid Madoc Jones (b. 1900) wrote poems and plays. She studied the life of the author Lewis Carroll and was interested in local history. She taught at her father's old school. Both Geraint and Enid wrote articles, many on the history of the school, Beaumaris and local history.
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Adnau preifat / Private deposit.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifdy Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Gwasanaeth Archifdy Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archivesand the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Gwasanaeth Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da / Good condition
Compiled by Amanda Sweet for Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives.
The following sources were used in the compiling of this description: Archifdy Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives catalogue: WD32
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
The items have been collected by ex-pupils of Beaumaris Grammar School and displayed in a room above the Memorail Hall now The David Hughes Centre, the only remaining building from the original Grammar School. The Old Bimarensian's wanted the items to be displayed as a 'museum' to the school. Temperatures and humidity in the building are not ideal for such storage so original items have been deposited at Anglesey archives. Duplicate and copy items remain in the old school.
Mae croniadau yn bosibl/Accruals are possible