Ruabon Council School was opened on 25 July 1912 at a cost of £5,000. Three years earlier 62 parents had signed a petition in favour of a new school free from all sectarian influences. Plans were submitted for a mixed school with an infants department and capacity for 276 scholars in 6 classrooms.
On 31 August 1914 Ruabon Council School received 30/- woth of books for the school library as a reward for the highest % of attendance in the district.(ED/LB/89/11)
The school served dinner for the first time on 8 February 1943 after an open air classroom was converted into a cookhouse.
In 1963, all of the children at Ruabon Council school were English speaking only, according to an inspectorate report.
By 2000, the name of the school had changed from Ruabon Council school to Ysgol Maes y Llan. The number of pupils was 137 including 20 nursery children.
Also known as Ysgol Maes-y-Llan.
This collection includes log books, admission registers, managers minutes and accounts.
Maes y Llan Lane, Ruabon, Wrexham. LL14 6AE
T.W.Pritchard, Remembering Ruabon, 2000