Clevedon College, Swansea

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

E/Cle Sec 1-2 Photographs

E/Cle Sec 3 College history

E/Cle Sec 4 Log book

E/Cle Sec 5 Admission register

E/Cle Sec 6 Prospectus

E/Cle Sec 7-8 Legal records

E/Cle Sec 9-11 Plans and correspondence

E/Cle Sec 12-19 Photographs

E/Cle Sec 20-21 Newspaper cuttings

E/Cle Sec 22-23 Correspondence

E/Cle Sec 24-25 Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

The origins of the school were conceived in the YMCA, Swansea in 1923. Later Mr Arthur C. A. Rowe the Principal rented part of Ffynone House and ran the school known as Central Private School from there. In 1928 the school moved to Uplands House, Cwmdonkin Drive, Uplands, Swansea and became known as Clevedon College. The school finally closed in July 1970 after 47 years.

This collection (apart from items 1 and 2) has been gathered together and donated by Mr Roy Harding during research into writing a brief history on Clevedon College.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.

Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Education - Clevedon College, Swansea, catalogue.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

No information available.

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.

Geographical Names