The first deposit of 50, 726 items represents the activities of John Evans, attorney of Porth yr Aur, Caernarvon and his practice.
Papers relating to the administration of justice and local government in the county of Caernarfon and in some cases Anglesey, consist of shrievalty papers, 1774 - 1831; county court action and minute books and papers, 1784 - 1831 (1811 - 1821 for co. Anglesey); court of Great Sessions account books, protonotary's accounts and miscellaneous papers, 1789 - 1831; divisional and Quarter Sessions minutes, jury lists and papers, 1790 - 1835; county treasurer's papers, 1795 - 1809; militia accounts, certificates of enlistment and miscellaneous papers, 1793 1808. Then follow papers dealing with the county gaol and prisoners, 1796 - 1833; highways, 1808 - 1833; bridges, 1796 - 1809; assessed taxes for Caernarvonshire and Anglesey and the land tax, 1772 - 1828; hawkers and pedlars, 1819 - 1832; excise and licensing, 1808 - 1833; weights and measures, 1820 - 1833; overseers of the poor, 1809 - 1834; parochial administration for Caernarvonshire, Anglesey and other Welsh and English counties, 1790 - 1734; Caernarvon town developments, 1819 - 1827; election matters, including poll books of the 1768 and 1774 county elections and of the 1722 borough election, together with accounts, correspondence, election songs and miscellanea, 1768 - 1835.
Documents relating to land and estates include papers regarding inclosures in Aberdaron, Mynydd Mynytho, Rhoshiwaun, Llanbeblig, Llanrug, Llanddeiniolen, Morfan Dinlle, Llandwrog, Llanwnda, Llanllyfni, Clynnog, Nefyn, Llanfihangel-y-Pennant, Penmorfa co. Caernarfon; Heneglwys, Morfa Malltraeth, Llanbedr Niwbwrch, and Llangeinwen co. Anglesey and Llandanwg, Llanfihangel-y-traethau, Llanfachreth and Llanelltud co. Merioneth and Llanfihangel Genau'r-glyn and Llangynfelyn, co, Cardigan, 1803 - 1827; and also a collection of crown rents, 1788 - 1834 and the rents of the Bishop of Bangor's manors of Cantred an Treffos, Anglesey. Also included are originals, copies and drafts of deeds documents and papers relating to the Caerhengan and Coed Cae Du (Llanllyfni), Collfryn (Llanwnda), Coetmor (Llanllechid and Llandygai), Llangwnadl, Cesail Gyfarch (Penmorfa), Glanrafon (Llanbeblig), Glynllifon, Gwynfryn, Morris (Llanrug), Madryn, W.A. Maddocks (Tremadoc), Pentir, Plas Brereton (Llanbeblig), Rhiwlas (Eifionydd), Rosindale Lloyd (Pwllheli), Tan-y-bwlch (Llanllechid), Trallwyn, Treflan (Llanbeblig) and Vaynol estates, and also papers relating to other properties in Aberdaron, Aber-erch, Bangor, Betws Garmon, Bodferin, Bryncroes, Caernarfon, Clynnog, Conway, Llandygai, Llanengan, Llanfairfechan, Llanfaglan, Llangwnnadl, Llanllyfni, Llannor, Llanwnda, Llysfaen, Portinllaen and Pwllheli, 1570 - 1839, and the following Anglesey estates : Bodrwyn (Cerrigceinwen), Chwaen Du, Llanfaethlu, Plas Coch, Tai Croesion, Trosymarian (Llangoed) and Trysclwyn (Amlwch) and other properties in Coedana, Heneglwys, Holyhead, Llanddaniel, Llanddeusant, Llandegfan, Llandyfrydog, Llannerchymedd, Llanfwrog, Llangefni, Llangoed, Llangristiolus, Llangwyllog, Pentraeth and Trewalchmai, 1581 - 1834. Also papers in actions concerning tithes, 1731 - 1834.
Papers concerning slate quarrying and mining activities including accounts, correspondence, plans etc., originate either in litigation or administration concerning the following major quarries : Braichrhydd (Llandwrog), 1810 - 1832, Cefndu (Llanbeblig), 1798 - 1834, Cilgwyn (Llandwrog and Llanwnda), 1789 - 1829, Dinorwig (Llanberis), 1787 - 1829, Hafodlas (Ffestiniog), 1812 - 1827, Moeltryfan (Llanwnda), 1823 - 1830, and the minor concerns of Bwlch Carreg-y-fran (Penmachno), 1814 - 1821, Bwlch-y-beudy (Dolwyddelan), 1814 - 1816, Cefn Carn (Merioneth), 1822 - 1823, Coetmor (Llanllechid), 1804 - 1826, Gallt-y-fedw (Llanllyfni), 1866 - 1877, Gallt-y-llan (Llanberis), 1811, Pen-y-bryn (Llanllyfni), 1808 - 1818, Talysarn (Llanllyfni), 1802 - 1804, 1826 - 1831, Tanybwlch (Llanllechid), 1811 - 1826, Ty'n llwyn, 1817 - 1922 and Ty'n ffridd, 1818 - 1826. Papers dealing with the vicissitudes of the slate trade, 1788 - 1823 and with efforts made to repeal the Slate Tax, 1791 - 1795. Papers in a chancery action between William Turner, one of the capitalist pioneers of the Ffestiniog slate industry and George Ford a London merchant, 1808 - 1828. Papers relating to mining ventures in Caernarvonshire and Anglesey and mentioning the following mines: Pen-y-Crug Colliery (Llangristiolus), 1814 - 1818, Bwlchderwyn Mine (Clynnog), 1822 - 1823, Ffridd Redyn (Llanrwst), 1822, Penrhyn Du Mine (Llanengan), 1769 - 1779, Parys Mine Co., 1764 - 1785, Mona Mine Co., 1812, 1828, Llangystennin Mine, 1784 - 1785, Gwydir Nant Mine, 1773 - 1793, Llanberis Mine, 1761 - 1804, Snowdon Mine, 1805 - 1818 and the Moelfre Stone Quarry, 1823 - 1826.
Papers concerning transport and communications include those dealing with the administration of the turnpike roads of Caernarvonshire and Merioneth, 1786 - 1837. Reports and correspondence relating to the Nantlle Tramroad, 1813 - 1832 and the Caernarvonshire Railway, 1861 - 1865. A group of papers relating to the shipping industry, including the papers of individual ships and papers dealing with the regulation of shipping in the port of Caernarvon - all of which throw light on the development of the port under the impetus of the slate industry, 1793 - 1834.
The administrative papers of the Porth yr Aur practice include journals and day books, general account books, 1773 - 1834. Among the letters are those of the Rev. Peter Bailey Williams, rector of Llanrug and Llanberis, written in his capacity as Justice of the Peace for Caernarvonshire.
Other papers and documents illustrating various aspects of the professional works of John Evans include action papers, 1784 - 1826, wills, bankruptcy papers, 1810 - 1827, corn accounts (Pwllheli market), 1789 - 1832 and building societies' accounts and transactions, 1801 - 1832.
The additional papers (2,062 items) include 1,807 records relating to the King's Sessions and Great Sessions of Caernarvonshire, Anglesey and Merioneth, 1423 - 1831. They include bailiff accounts of the county of Caernarfon, 1422 - 1423, an Anglesey plea roll, 1509 - 1516/7, together with writs, jury presentments, pleas in actions, recognizances, coroner' inquests, recusancy certificates, jury lists and miscellaneous documents and papers, 1433 - 1831. The remaining items include deeds relating to properties in Aber, Aber-erch, Bangor, Bodfaeo, Botwnnog, Dwygyfylchi, Caernarfon, Llanbeblig, Llanfairfechan, Llanfairisgaer, Llangwnnadl, Llaniestyn, Llanllechid, Llanllyfni, Llanrug, Llanwnda, Llanystumdwy, Penmorfa and Pistyll, co. Caernarfon, Beaumaris, Bodedern, Holyhead, Llanbadrig, Llanddyfnan, Llandrygarn, Llandyfrydog, Llanfeirian, Llechylched, Newborough and Rhosbeirio, co. Anglesey and Ffestiniog, Llanfachreth, Llandrillo, Llanfihangel-y-traethau and Tal-y-llyn, co. Merioneth, 1524 - 1903 and a few papers (including commissioners' awards) relating to the Nefyn and Morfa Dinlle, Aberdaron and Llanddeiniolen inclosures, 1812 - 1817.
The further additional papers include deeds, documents and papers relating to properties in the parishes of Llanddona, Llanbabo (Llanfflewin), Llangefni, Llangoed, Llangristiolus, Llanidan, Llechylched, Pentraeth, Rhosbeirio, Amlwch and Beaumaris, co. Anglesey, 1637 - 1866; Aber-erch, Betws Garmon, Bryncroes, Caernarfon, Clynnog, Llanbeblig, Llandwrog, Llanfihangel-y-Pennant, Llanllechid, Llanllyfni, Llanwnda, Penmorfa, Dwygyfylchi, Llanfairfechan, Castell, Deneio, Llanfair-is-gaer, Llanddeiniolen, Llanfaglan, co. Caernarfon, 1625 - 1859; St. Asaph in Flintshire, 1850; Ffestiniog and Llanfrothen in Merionethshire, 1813. Also included are papers regarding the Caernarfon, Beddgelert and Portmadoc Railway 1861 - 1867 and the Nantlle Railway Company, 1827. And also correspondence, 1784 - 1883, accounts, 1780 - 1864 and miscellaneous papers such as pedigrees and Caernarvonshire chapel leases.