Comprising: registers of baptisms 1845-1956; registers of marriages 1912-1956; minutes 1884-1956; accounts 1842-1868, 1815-1956; papers on the sale of the church 1956-1957; other records 1922
DONCASTER, SPRING GARDENS METHODIST CHURCH RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This church was built by the Primitive Methodists in 1854 to replace an earlier chapel (built in 1821) bought from the Methodist New Connexion, in Duke Street. The Spring Gardens chapel was the head church of the Doncaster Circuit, 1st Station until 1950, when it became part of the Doncaster South Circuit. The Church was closed in 1956.
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries
The marriage registers in this collection (NM37/2/5-9) were transferred to Doncaster Archives from Sheffield Archives in 2009, where they were held under the references SY139/N11/19-23.