Records of Pwllheli Borough Council, 1780-1974, comprising Borough Court order books and council minutes, 1780-1974; various committee minutes, 1894-1974; burgess roll books, 1835-1890; parish rate books, 1913-1967; general district rate and water rent books, 1913-1923; general ledgers, 1894-1973; housing records, 1935-1974; Clerk's correspondence, 1890-1970; Finance Committee accounts, 1907-1967; Building Committee records, 1946-1970; Public health and Water Committee reports and correspondence, 1942-1964; Harbour Committee correspondence, 1907-1960; Watch Committee records, 1805, 1853-1901; Clerk's memorandum book of Pwllheli Union, 1871-1901.
Pwllheli Borough Council Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XB/12
- Dates of Creation1780-1974
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish Welsh
- Physical DescriptionTo be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Pwllheli, Caernarfonshire, was granted a charter as a free borough by Edward, the Black Prince, in 1355. It eventually assumed the status of a Corporation. The borough's chief officials were the Bailiffs, with other offices coming into existence over time, including the Mayor and Recorder. Pwllheli Corporation was abolished following the Municipal Corporations Act 1835 and was replaced with a newly constituted elected Town Council. This consisted of 12 members, of whom four were made Aldermen. They appointed a Mayor, Town Clerk, Treasurer and Constable. The town's affairs were administered by these officials and overseen by a number of committees. Pwllheli Borough Council was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation, its responsibilities being assumed by the new Dwyfor Distirct Council.
Arranged into the following: minute books; burgess roll books; parish rate books; general district rate and water rent books; general ledgers; housing: volumes; Clerk's correspondence; Finance Committee: abstracts of accounts; Finance Committee: epitome of accounts; Building Committee; Public Health and Water Committee; Harbour Committee; Watch Committee; Pwllheli Union; miscellaneous.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Cyngor Bwrdeisdref Pwllheli/Pwllheli Borough Council, catalogue; Caernarfon Record Office, A Schedule of Pwllheli Corporation Records; Lloyd Hughes, D. G., Pwllheli: An old Welsh town and its history (Llandysul, 1991).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Some of the records were previously catalogued in Caernarfon Record Office, A Schedule of Pwllheli Corporation Records.
Accruals are not expected