Scope and Content

The Home materials are arranged into the following series: Board Minutes, 1836-1869, 1899-1967; Finance Committee Minutes, 1913-1950; Western Committee Minutes, 1905-1941; Miscellaneous Committee Minutes, 1908-1960; Home correspondence, 1837-1843; Subject files, 1897-1966; Candidates papers, 1961-1970.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Colonial Missionary Society was initially formed as a Committee of the Congregational Union of England and Wales. It was organised through a main Committee or Board, with a Treasurer and Honorary Secretary. Originally staff were unpaid, but gradually salaried officials were appointed to run the administration. The headquarters of the Colonial Missionary Society were originally at the Congregational Library, Bloomfield Street, Finsbury Circus, London, but moved to the Memorial Hall, Farringdon Street. Sub-committees developed to deal with the day-to-day administration of the Society, with a North sub-committee and a South sub-committee having geographical responsibilities for regions North and South of the equator. By the 1890s, an Eastern and a Western sub-committee had been formed to deal with stations in areas such as Jamaica, Rhodesia and South Africa. Secretaries included Thomas James (1850-64), Alexander Hannay (1867-75), W S H Fielden (1875-94), Daniel Burford Hooke (1894-1916), Ralph Calder (1948-56) and Ernest J. Edwards (1956-66).

Access Information


Archivist's Note