Home Committee Minutes

Scope and Content

Minutes of the Home committees of the LMS, including the Arthington Trust Committee (1905-1927); Finance Committee (1837-1910), continued in the minutes of the Consultative & Finance Committee (1895-1966); General Purpose & Finance Committee (CCWM), (1966-1970); Finance Committee (CCWM), (1970-1977); Funds & Agency Committee (1843-1966); Home Occasional Committee (1841-1954); Literature Committee (1866-1939) and Literature Sub-Committee (1955-1961); Home Special Committees, various (1872-1977); Ship Committee (1864-1954); Tyler Tomb Committee (1894-1948).

Administrative / Biographical History

The Home Committees were formed to direct many of the activities of the London Missionary Society as it grwe in size. By 1810, the Board of Directors had come to realise that it was impractical, if not impossible for all members of the Board to discuss all matters. The various interests of the Society were then divided into different committees, all of which reported to the Board.

Access Information


Archivist's Note