South Africa,1828

Archive Unit

Scope and Content

includes letters from:

Henry Helm, Bethelsdorp and Caledon

James Kitchingman, Paarl

Richard Miles, Cape Town - a letter salvaged from wreck of C Jameson

C J J Vanderkemp, Bethelsdorp - requests materials for school work

Robert Moffat, Lattakoo [Kuruman] - requests something done to stop commando depredations; attacks of Corannas; description of attack by commando of mountaineers; requests instructions re making grammar and translating Bible

William Foster, Cape Town - preaching at Port Elizabeth and Uitenhage, teaching missionary children at Cape, awaited instruction re seminary

Peter Wright, Griquatown [Griekwastad]

Adam Robson, Bethelsdorp - question re baptizing half-grown children; annual report

John Brownlee, Caffreland - parts of 3 letters: witch-doctor, torture and death of woman accused of bewitching

R H Hay, for Sir George Murray, Downing Street [London] - grant of land for Theopolis institution

Rogers Edwards, Theopolis

joint letter of Frederick Gottlob Kayser and John Brownlee, Caffreland

extract from Robert Hamilton's letter requesting permission to buy gunpowder

James Read, Bethelsdorp - revival at Bethelsdorp; his son's work

John Melvill, Philippolis - half-yearly report

commissioner van Ryneveld, Graaff-Reinet

William Elliott, Cape Town - working among Muslims at Cape, requests transfer from South African Society to LMS

copy of letter from J Bell, secretary to colonial government, Cape Town

George Barker, Theopolis

rules of proposed union between Graaff-Reinet misisonary society and LMS, Graaff-Reinet

P E Faure, Utrecht

Cornelius Rahmn, London

Frederick Gottlob Kayser, Buffalo River [later East London]

Arie Vos, Tulbagh

George Yeoland, Cape Town - death of Daniel Tyerman

LMS directors, London to Sir George Murray [UK Secretary for Colonies] re implementation of House of Commons resolution of 15 July 1828

joint letter of Peter Wright and Isaac Hughes, Griquatown [Griekwastad]

John Campbell, Shacklewell [London]

Sara Meyer [née Sara Janse, widow of Dr Johannes Vanderkemp]

James Read, Bethelsdorp

Bastiaan Tromp, Stellenbosch

joint report by William Anderson and Thomas Edwards, Pacaltsdorp

joint letter accompanying report from John Brownlee and Frederick Gottlob Kayser, Buffalo River [later East London]; Kayser translated Mark's gospel

Henry Schmelen, Komaggas [Namaqualand] - difficulties of work in area; station now established at Komaggas, Michael Wimmer to join him

James Clark, Bushman station (near Caledon river)

James Kitchingman, Paarl - annual report

Michael Wimmer, Steinkopf - annual report

reports of anniversaries of Bible Society at Bethelsdorp, benevolent society at Theopolis and of Grahamstown auxiliary missionary society

short extract from report of Goverment commission of inquiry

rough translation of report of adult Sunday School, Bethelsdorp

Conditions Governing Access


Other Finding Aids

Detailed lists for incoming correspondence from Southern Africa, 1797-1899 (lists E6 & E7), are available for consultation in the Special Collections Reading Room, SOAS Library. Includes detailed precis of letters up to 1866.

Archivist's Note