Madagascar (Betsileo Province [now Fianarantsoa]),1898

Archive Unit

Scope and Content

includes letters from:

Arthur Huckett (secretary), Fianarantsoa - minutes of Betsileo District Committee

Dr George Peake, Fianarantsoa

E Escande (Paris Missionary Society), Fianarantsoa (in French with translation)

Frances Hare, Fianarantsoa

Joseph Pearse, Fianarantsoa

Henry Johnson (treasurer), Fianarantsoa

Charles Collins, Farafangana and Ambohimandroso

John Haile, Ambohimahasoa

David Rees, Ambohimandroso

Conditions Governing Access


Other Finding Aids

A detailed list of Incoming Correspondence for Madagascar, 1794-1879 (list E2), is available for consultation in the Special Collections Reading Room, SOAS Library.

Archivist's Note