Scope and Content

includes letters from:

Joseph Hardcastle, London - copy of letter to William Wilberforce MP; letter to fellow directors of Missionary Society; copy of memorial to government over East India Company's attitude to missionaries

E Hambrook, Dover - donation from heathens friends society

Wiliam Carlile (secretary, Paisley Missionary Society), Paisley [Scotland]

Isaac Purkis, Tobago - with copies of letters received in Tobago

copy of letter for Robert Morrison, Canton

Samuel Tracey (Home Secretary, Missionary Society), London

David Bogue, Gosport

A Simpson, Wycomb [High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire] - High-Wycomb school offerings]

John Campbell, Shacklewell [London] - re visit to South Africa

Letters from the following, accepting appointment as directors of the Missionary Society:- Herbert Mends, Plymouth; Henry Overton Wills, Bristol; Thomas Raffles, Liverpool; James Bowden, Hull; Isaac Tozer, Taunton; John Arundel, London

Thomas Towne, Royston (Cambridgeshire) [later Hertfordshire] - forming auxiliary society for Cambridgeshire

G Paul, Bury St Edmunds [Suffolk] - formation of auxiliary society

Angus McIntosh, Tain [Scotland]

Andrew Reed, London - formation of East London auxiliary society

HO Wills, Bristol

Richard Pearsall Allen, Exeter - list of Devon ministers

W Bishop, Bristol

joint letter from John Saunders and W Dove, Plymouth

Herbert Mends, Plymouth

John Saunders, Plymouth

Gregory Warner, Deptford [Kent]

William Wilberforce, Kensington Gore

Rowland Hill, Wootton Underedge [Wootton-under-Edge, Gloucestershire]

W Purton, London - formation and rules of Shoe Lane auxiliary society (to give equal sums to London and Baptist Missionary Societies)

William Farmer, Leeds

William Wilberforce, Kensington Gore and 'No 1, Poet's Corner'

Access Information


Other Finding Aids

A detailed list for Home Incoming Correspondence, 1795-1876 (list A1) is available for available for consultation in the Special Collections Reading Room, SOAS Library.

Archivist's Note