Madagascar Reports

Scope and Content

Series of official or annual reports from LMS mission stations to LMS headquarters, relating to the LMS mission provinces in Madagascar. Consists of detailed reports from missionaries in charge of stations, schools and hospitals, as well as their wives and occasionally indigenous teachers or assistants. The reports start from 1868, 7 years after the return of LMS missionaries to Madagascar in 1861. The reports can contain a great deal of information, including statistical data on congregations, the work of the mission, the establishment and running of mission schools. Some reports contain examples of materials in the Malagasy language. There are also reports containing details of hospitals and medical work.

The Madagascar reports relate primarily to LMS work in three main provinces of Imerina, Betsileo (now Fianarantsoa) and Antsihanaka. There are some reports from out-lying stations, including the station at Tamatave (later Toamasina). A significant proportion of the reports are written from Antananarivo (Tananarive), although they can contain reports from other stations within Imerina province.

Some reports relate to specific Institutions, and for Madagascar these include the Girls Central High School and Normal School at Antananarivo, Faravohitra School, the Girls Elementary School and the Theological College or Seminary at Antananarivo (established 1870), and also a leper mission.

Significant missionaries reporting for the period to 1940 include Richard Baron (1847-1907, Madagascar mission 1872-1907); Thomas Brockway (1831-1909, Madagascar mission 1871-1896); George Cousins (1842-1926, Madagascar mission 1864-1883, later joint foreign secretary of the LMS); William Edward Cousins (1840-1936, Madagascar mission 1862-1899); Edith Craven (1850-1937, Madagascar mission 1883-1922); William Kendall Gale (1873-1935, Madagascar mission 1908-1935); Charles Jukes (1841-1918, Madagascar mission 1866-1901); Elizabeth Lomas (1877-1959, Madagascar mission 1919-1939); John Parrett (1841-1918, Madagascar mission 1862-1885); Philip George Peake (1843-1928, Madagascar mission 1870-1909); Jeremiah Peill (1850-1917, Madagascar mission 1873-1906); Elsie Isobel Sibree (1881-1969, Madagascar mission 1904-1954); James Sibree (1836-1929, Madagascar mission 1863-1877 & 1883-1916).


The material is arranged into annual files up to 1939, and chronologically rather than by mission province. Therefore, the name of the mission province such as Imerina, Betsileo or Antsihanaka has been added to the description of each report. From 1940, reports are arranged alphabetically by author, and grouped approximately by decade. The material relating to 1941-50 includes one box of reports (MA/19A) relating to the fifteen years review of the work of the Churches and mission in Madagascar.

Access Information


Archivist's Note