Society Islands, 1844

Archive Unit

Scope and Content

Includes letters from

Teriitaria & Pai, Huahine

Students at institution for native teachers

Queen Pomare (in translation) to Queen Victoria and manifesto to King Louis Philippe

Governor Bruat [Armand Joseph Bruat]

M Guizot

De la Massue

H M Addington for Lord Aberdeen

LMS Directors to Lord Aberdeen

Alex[ander] Simpson, Moorea

George Platt, Tahiti

Ernest Krause, Tahaa and (later) Raiatea as Secretary

Ebenezer Buchanan, Tahiti

William Henry, Kissing Point and Eimeo

Mrs A Nott [née Turner]

Thomas Joseph

Charles Barff, Huahine and Tahiti (as Chairman)

George Pritchard (junior) - his father arrested by French charged with instigating native insurrection

William Howe

Mr Bicknell - copy of part of letter from Elizabeth Bicknell

Robert Thomson, Paofai

John Jesson (secretary) forced with Mr Thomson and their families to flee

John Rodgerson, Borabora

Joseph Moore, Tahiti

John Barff, Tautira

David Darling

Thomas Blossom

John Johnston

George Platt, Huahine and Raiatea

Alexander Chisholm, Tahiti

George Charter

Joint letter from Captain W Altham of the Chartley Castle, William Howe and John Jesson, Valparaiso

Thomas Heath

George Gill

John Davies, Papara [on Tahiti island]

deaths of Henry Nott (1 May 1844) and Thomas McKean

Captain Sillers

Conditions Governing Access


Other Finding Aids

Handlist available

Archivist's Note