South Africa,1827

Scope and Content

includes letters from:

W L van Buchenrader, Cape Town

Richard Miles, Cape Town - printing and sale of Dutch hymn books

William Anderson, Pacaltsdorp

W Alers Hankey, London - copy of letter to Lord Bathurst [UK Secretary for War and the Colonies]

Adam Robson, Bethelsdorp

William Anderson, Pacaltsdorp

Isaac Hughes, Lattakoo [Kuruman] and Graaff-Reinet

Henry Helm, Bethelsdorp

Christopher Sass, Griquatown [Griekwastad]

John Melvill, Philippolis

Inhabitants, Graham's Town [Grahamstown]

Paarl auxiliary Missionary Society

James Kitchingman, Paarl

John Philip, Walthamstow [England] and Stirling [Scotland]

Frederick Gottlob Kayser, Cape Town and Buffalo River [later East London]

John Munro, Grahamstown

Peter Wright, Griquatown [Griekwastad]

Michael Wimmer, Steinkopf (Northern Cape)

Correspondence between William Anderson, Pacaltsdorp and Richard Miles, Cape Town with government about Africans requiring passes whenever they go out of missionary Institution

James Read, Bethelsdorp

Sir Richard Plasket, colonial office (Cape Town) - reply to Richard Miles on attack by Burgenaars on Griquatown

John Brownlee, Caffreland - report of state of Caffre missions about the end of 1827

A Stockenstroem, Graaff-Reinet

joint letter of Robert Moffat and Robert Hamilton, Lattakoo [Kuruman] - Lattakoo an asylum for Africans from commandos

Letitia Miles, Cape Town

J H Beck, Cape Town

Robert Moffat, Lattakoo [Kuruman] - fighting and marauding, threats to destroy mission station; started teaching Sechuana in school; had to remove temporarily to Griquatown

George Barker, Theopolis

John Bartlett, Campbell

joint letter of James Clark and John Melvill, Philippolis - exploring round Caledon river for a better site

C J J Vanderkemp, Bethelsdorp

Arie Vos, Tulbagh - annual report

report of adult Sunday School, Bethelsdorp

joint annual report by Adam Robson, William Foster and James Read, Bethelsdorp

Captain Andrew Waterboer, Griqualand - Circumstances attending the government of the Griquas

Access Information


Other Finding Aids

Detailed lists for incoming correspondence from Southern Africa, 1797-1899 (lists E6 & E7), are available for consultation in the Special Collections Reading Room, SOAS Library. Includes detailed precis of letters up to 1866.

Archivist's Note