Madagascar (Imerina),1883

Scope and Content

includes letters from:

James Taylor, Antananarivo and Amboditsiny

Philip George Peake, Isoavina

George Cousins, Antananarivo

Richard Baron, Antananarivo - copy of letter to press

James Richardson, Antananarivo - Minutes of Annual Meeting of Committee; copies of letters to Manchester Guardian newspaper

Benjamin Briggs (Secretary), Antananarivo - minutes of 2 committee meetings

John Bennett, Antananarivo

Dr Joseph Fox (secretary LMS-Friends joint medical committee), Antananarivo - minutes

Thomas Lord (treasurer), Antananarivo and Lisbon

George Shaw, Tamatave [Toamasina] and St Denis Bourbon (Réunion)

James Wills, Ambohimanga and Faravohitra

Thomas Matthews, Antananarivo

William Cousins (acting secretary), Antananarivo - minutes of special committee meeting; telegram from Aden

church at Ambavahadimitafo

James Thorne, Mauritius and Antananarivo

John Houlder, Mauritius and Antananarivo

Mrs Shaw [née Emily Maria Prior], Mauritius

Ireland, Fraser & Co, Mauritius

James Sibree, Mauritius

Charles Jukes, Antananarivo and off Lisbon

Procter Brothers

Mary Bliss, Mauritius and North Adelaide

Edith Craven, Mauritius and Antananarivo

William Pickersgill, Aden

Thomas Capsey,Antananarivo

Edwin Stribling, Fihaonana

William Montgomery, Antananarivo

death of queen of Madagascar

Access Information


Other Finding Aids

A detailed list of Incoming Correspondence for Madagascar, 1794-1879 (list E2), is available for consultation in the Special Collections Reading Room, SOAS Library.

Archivist's Note