Madagascar (Imerina),1886

Archive Unit

Scope and Content

includes letters from:

Thomas Matthews, Antananarivo - with evangelist's report of visit to churches in Anativolo district

James Thorne, Antananarivo

Richard Baron (secretary), Antananarivo and Faravohitra - encloses examination certificate for Edith Craven and Edward Taylor; minutes of Annual and regular meetings of Imerina District Committee

James Wills (treasurer), Antananarivo and Faravohitra

Charles Collins, Ambohipotsy

John Houlder (acting secretary), Antananarivo - committee resolution, committee minutes

Ireland, Fraser & Co, Mauritius

James Sibree, Antananarivo and Ambatofisaorana

Jeremiah Peill, Ambohimanga

William Cousins, Antananarivo

Helena Anderson, on board Duart Castle

Charles Collins, Antananarivo/Ambohibeloma

William Montgomery, Antananarivo

Philip George Peake, Isoavina

Prime Minister, Antananarivo - to James Sibree and Thomas Capsey

Rainibao, Antananarivo

William Montgomery, Antananarivo

James Taylor, Tsiafahy

Charles Jukes, Antananarivo

Edwin Stribling, on board Garth Castle and Taymouth Castle and Antananarivo

Thomas Lord, Antananarivo

Dr James Mackay

Benjamin Briggs, Antananarivo

James Richardson, on board Bell Buoy

Conditions Governing Access


Other Finding Aids

A detailed list of Incoming Correspondence for Madagascar, 1794-1879 (list E2), is available for consultation in the Special Collections Reading Room, SOAS Library.

Archivist's Note