Papua New Guinea,1898

Scope and Content

includes letters from:

Harry Dauncey, Delena

Albert Pearse, Port Moresby

James Chalmers, Saguana/Saguane, (and with Mrs Chalmers [Jane Robertson Hercus]), Thursday Island, Mabuiagi and Saibai

John Holmes, Jokea [Iokea], Moru and Port Moresby

Charles Cribb, Brisbane, Queensland, Sydney

Frederick Walker, Sydney, Samarai

Henry Schlenker, Isuleilei, Vatorata

William Lawes, Vatorata

Archibald Hunt, Suez and Thursday Island

Sir William Macgregor [administrator of New Guinea], New Guinea

Charles Abel, Kwato

Mrs Dauncey [née Mary Ellen Hinton], Port Said

Access Information


Other Finding Aids

A detailed list of Incoming Correspondence for Papua, 1872-1900 (list D2), is available for consultation in the Special Collections Reading Room, SOAS Library.

Archivist's Note