Llansannan Parish Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Comprises registers of baptism, confirmation, banns, marriage and burial; vestry records; records of Overseers of the Poor; school records and some miscellanea.

[N.B. Bishop Transcripts are available on Microfilm at Denbighshire Record Office, (1667-1832)].

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish church of St Sannan was first mentioned in the Norwich taxation of 1254 but was rebuilt in 1778 and restored in 1879.

The ancient parish of Llansannan comprised the townships of Treflach, Mostyn and Hendreunig, Llansannan, Rhydeidon, Beidiog, Penaled (or Pennant Aled), Llysaled, Archwedlog, Chwibren, Hescin, Deunant, Arllwyd, and Grugor. In 1855, the new parish of Bylchau was created; and the township of Grugor, with portions of Archwedlog and Deunant were transferred from Llansannan to Bylchau. Later part of a grouped parish along with Bylchau and Nantglyn, today Llansannan forms part of the Parish of Petryal along with Llanfair T.H., Llangernyw and Gwytherin.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.

Custodial History

CEP10/2/1-3, CEP10/3/1 and CEP10/5/1 transferred from National Library of Wales to the Conwy Archive Service, July 2008; the remainder of the collection was received from the parish by Denbighshire Record Office in accessions of 1977 and 1999. Transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009. A further small accession was made in 2015.