Church in Wales Parish Records of the Diocese of Swansea and Brecon in the County of Gwent

Scope and Content

Records of the ecclesiastical parishes of Bryn-Mawr and Llanelly, 1722-1991.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Diocese of Swansea and Brecon was created by the Disestablished Church in Wales in 1923 and was formed from the counties of Brecknockshire and Radnorshire, the City of Swansea, the Swansea valley connecting it with Brecknock, and the Gower Peninsula. The Diocese includes the parishes of Bryn-Mawr and Llanelly, formerly in the Diocese of St David's.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Source not recorded


Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Gwent Record Office, Church in Wales, Diocese of Swansea and Brecon, catalogue; Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History, (Oxford University Press, Oxford, 1997); The Diocese of Swansea and Brecon,, viewed 6 October 2005.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Gwent Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Gwent Record Office have been retained.


Accruals are possible