- Property records 1929-1964;
- Photographs 1912-1980s;
- Historical notes 1980s.
Records of Gleneagles Malting Ltd, brewers and maltsters, Blackford, Perthshire, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 GLM
- Dates of Creation1912-1986
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.03 metres (2 files)There are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William Thomson erected a new brewery and maltings at Blackford, Perthshire, Scotland . Whilst the brewery was under construction William died, and so the work was completed by his Trustees. In July 1898 the business became a limited liability company under the name W B Thomson Ltd . The company added maltings to the brewery and began to manufacture aerated water. By the early 1900s W B Thomson had run into financial difficulties, which was partly a consequence of a slump being suffered by the brewing industry in general. The aerated water and bottling sides to the business were separated from the brewery, the former merging with John Craik & Co of Perth , Perthshire and Kinross to form Thomson Craik & Co Ltd . W B Thomson Ltd went into liquidation and brewing ceased in March 1915 after finally being crippled by economic conditions induced by a country at war.
J & A Davidson & Co , brewers of Coldstream, Borders, Scotland , acquired the brewery in 1916. They in turn sold the premises to Calder & Co of Alloa, Clackmannanshire, Scotland in 1920. In 1931 Gleneagles Malting Ltd , the parent company being Veda Ltd , Edinburgh, Scotland , who marketed Veda Bread, leased the premises at Blackford. The brew house was only ever used for storage, although the Ministry of Supply during the Second World War requisitioned it for a time. Gleneagles Malting Ltd finally purchased the premises around 1950, and the premises remain in the possession of Veda Ltd in 2002.
Source: McMaster, Charles . The Breweries of Blackford. Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter , No 7 (Summer 1986)
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
McMaster, Charles . The Breweries of Blackford. Scottish Brewing Newsletter , No 7 (Summer 1986)
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), 31 October 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 22 January 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 05 December 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 10 May 2012.