Parish records of Selby, St James

Scope and Content

Includes register of marriages, 1868-1934; register of banns, 1868-1957; register of services, 1867-1955; register of confirmations, 1943-1954; register of communicants, c.1930; records concerning benefice income, including returns 1887, 1935-1936; churchwardens’ accounts, 1867-1887, 1910-1955; records of incumbents, including dilapidations papers, 1933, parsonage house papers, 1873, 1890, and statistical returns, 1912-1918, 1926-1929, 1931-1939; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including minutes of meetings of Selby and District Circle of Central Society of Sacred Study, 1910-1928, and Standering Memorial Hall papers, 1913-1988; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1921-1964, electoral roll, 1920-1931, and magazine, 1948.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of St James, Selby, was created from that of Selby Abbey on 20 December 1867. The church was designed by architects Newstead and Low of York and London and had been consecrated on 11 December by the Archbishop of York. There was a parsonage house by 1873. It was altered in 1890 and modernised in 1958.

The church was damaged in May 1944 when a Halifax bomber aircraft collided with the spire, killing the crew. The tower was rebuilt but the spire was not replaced.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1965 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984 and 1991.

Note

The parish of St James, Selby, was created from that of Selby Abbey on 20 December 1867. The church was designed by architects Newstead and Low of York and London and had been consecrated on 11 December by the Archbishop of York. There was a parsonage house by 1873. It was altered in 1890 and modernised in 1958.

The church was damaged in May 1944 when a Halifax bomber aircraft collided with the spire, killing the crew. The tower was rebuilt but the spire was not replaced.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1991.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of marriages, 1868-1934, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 772).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 03.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Selby (Abbey) are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193