Comprising: Registers of baptisms 1866-1898, Registers of marriages 1907-1968; minutes 1867-1919; accounts 1889-1970; Sunday school 1908-1963; Oxford Place Wesleyan day school [miscellaneous] 1864-1936; other records 1880-1967
DONCASTER, OXFORD PLACE METHODIST CHURCH RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The church was opened in 1870 on a site at the head of Oxford Place, a short side street less than a hundred metres long, that ran off St James Street in a roughly south-easterly direction from a point some two hundred metres north-east of the latter's junction with St Sepulchre Gate . It was the head church of the Oxford Place Methodist Circuit from 1884 until 1950, when the Doncaster South Circuit was formed. The site and buildings of Oxford Place Church were acquired by Doncaster Corporation with effect from 1 July 1970, whereafter the whole area was comprehensively redeveloped for new housing. The Oxford Place congregation joined that of the nearby Hyde Park Methodist Church [see NM/29] and awaited the construction of a replacement for their former church building. Their new church was erected a short distance from Oxford Place, on the corner of Bentinck Close and St James Street, just off Carr House Road. This church, Carr House Wesley [for which see NM/79], opened in June 1975.
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries
The eight marriage registers in this collection were transferred to Doncaster Archives from Sheffield Archives in 2009, where they were held under the references SY139/N11/11-18.