Records of the Boys Brigade 1st Dumbarton Company

Scope and Content

This collection consists of one file containing Annual Inspection and Display Programmes (1971-1974).

Administrative / Biographical History

The 1st Dumbarton company of the Boys' Brigade was established in October 1886, with four officers and seventy-three boys under the leadership of Captain Thomas Walker. The company was attached to the Dumbarton Free North Church. A 2nd Dumbarton company was formed in 1887 by the West Bridgend United Presbyterian Church. A 3rd company was formed in 1892 in connection with St Augustine's Episcopal Church. This company folded and was replaced in 1901 by a new 3rd company in the United Free High Church. By 1908, Dumbarton had 5 Boys' Brigade companies, two of which folded over the next two years.

In 1972, the 3rd company merged into the 1st Dumbarton and in 2004 the 1st and 2nd companies merged to to become the 1st/2nd Dumbarton company, the only remaining company in the town.

Access Information

This collection is open to use. To view the collection, please contact the archivist to arrange a visit.

Other Finding Aids

The full catalogue is available on our website. To view the catalogue, please click here: Records of the Boys Brigade 1st Dumbarton Company