Webb, Australasian Antarctic Expedition

Scope and Content

  • MS 694;D Account of the South Magnetic Pole Journey, 1912 [Written from the author's original diaries. See also MS 705;D] 25 leaves, holograph
  • MS 705;D Magnetic Polar Journey, 1912 [Revised account prepared in 1965 of a journey made during the expedition, See MS 694;D for the first account in manuscript] 20 leaves, diagrams, mimeographed

Administrative / Biographical History

The Australasian Antarctic Expedition, 1911-1914 (leader Douglas Mawson) established three bases, one on Macquarie Island, the others at Cape Denison and the Shackleton Ice Shelf. Sledging parties from the Cape Denison base explored the eastern coast, the southern area towards the Magnetic Pole and the western coastal mountains. A sledging party consisting of Mawson, Ninnes and Mertz explored the icecap to the south. (Only Mawson returned). The party on the Shackleton Ice Shelf carried out explorations including the assent of Gaussberg on the Davis Strait. The party on Macquarie Island led by George F Ainsworth established a wireless station and explored the island during their 23 month stay. Aurora searched for the non existent 'Royal Company Island' and visited Auckland Islands.



Related Material

For additional material relating to the Australasian Antarctic Expedition, 1911-1914 (leader Douglas Mawson) see SPRI collections Douglas Mawson, Walter Atack, John King Davis, Walter Henry Hannam, Charles T Harrisson, James Francis Hurley, Thomas Griffith Taylor and John Robert Francis Wild.

Material is also held at the Mitchell Library, Sydney, Australia